Here is Wayne Rooney’s statement in full:

“I was interested to hear what Sir Alex had to say yesterday and surprised by some of it. It is absolutely true that my agent and I have had meetings with the club about a new contract.

During those meetings in August, I asked for assurances about the continued ability for the club to attract the top players in the world. I never had anything but complete respect for Manchester United. How could I not have done given it’s fantastic history and the past 6 years I’ve been a part of.

For me it’s always about wining trophies which the club has always done under Sir Alex Ferguson. Because of that the questions I asked were justified. However, when I met with David Gill last week, he didn’t give me any assurances I was seeking about the future squad. I then told him I wouldn’t be signing a new contract.

Despite recent difficulties, I will always owe Sir Alex Ferguson a huge debt. He is a great manager and mentor who helped and supported me from the day he signed me from Everton when I was just 18. For Manchester United’s sake I wish he could go on forever because he is a one-off and a genius.”

Here’s my summary of Wayne Rooney’s statement:

“I want to earn A LOT more money, and Manchester United are not ‘ambitious’ enough to pay me what I want.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

