Happy birthday to Nigeria! We are celebrating our 50th year of independence today. Nigeria became independent on 1st October 1960, and the country has been on a rollercoaster of fortunes ever since. I lived in Nigeria from 1987 to 1994, and I had a great time while I was there.

Today’s celebrations were marred by two bombs blasts in the capital city Abuja, and the BBC reports that at least 8 people were killed in the explosions. MEND (the Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta) have claimed responsibility for these heinous terrorist attacks.

I do not want to spend today talking about Nigeria’s many problems, but I intend to do so in the future. I hope that we successful solve the majority of our problems over the next 10 years (another 50 years would be way too long).

Most of our problems are man-made ones (e.g the corruption of government ministers, the destruction of the Niger Delta, the religious conflicts in Jos, the lack of constant electricity…)

Blog editor: I thought you weren’t going to talk about Nigeria’s problems today.

Moja: Oh yeah, you’re right. I just can’t help myself!

Happy birthday Nigeria! I hope our current president Dr Goodluck Jonathan (aka “the Facebook President”) wins next year’s general election; we need intelligent leaders like him to lead our country to a future of peace and prosperity. God bless Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

