My Favourite Things

My favourite stand-up comedian Tim Vine has just won the prize for best joke of the Edinburgh Fringe with the following one-liner: “I’ve just been on a once-in-a-lifetime holiday. I’ll tell you what, never again.” 🙂

Other top jokes included:

“As a kid I was made to walk the plank. We couldn’t afford a dog.” – Gary Delany

“Dave drowned. So at the funeral we got him a wreath in the shape of a lifebelt. Well, it’s what he would have wanted.” – Gary Delany.

The competition was organised by a digital channel called Dave, and they also provided a list of some of the worst jokes of the Edinburgh Fringe:

“Why did the chicken commit suicide? To get to the other side.” – Sara Pascoe

“I like to play chess with bald men in the park although it’s hard to find 32 of them.” – Emo Phillips

“Some of my best friends are vegan. They were going to come today but they didn’t have the energy to climb up the stairs.” – Bec Hill

I started thinking about my other favourite things. Here goes…

a) Favourite alien – Doctor Who

b) Favourite Briton – J K Rowling

c) Favourite Cat vs Dog video clip – There Is A Limit to Patience

d) Favourite director – Christopher Nolan

e) Favourite euphemism – ‘Defence’ spending

f) Favourite football pundit/tweeter – Dan Mason

g) Favourite Geordie – Sir Bobby Robson

h) Favourite haribo sweet – Fizzy Cola

i) Favourite icon – Nelson Mandela

j) Favourite job – Food critic

k) Favourite Kafka short story – The Metamorphorsis (written in 1915!!!)

l) Favourite language – French

m) Favourite Manchester United player – Eric Cantona

n) Favourite Nigerian muscian – Da Grin (RIP)

o) Favourite oracle – Paul the Octopus

p) Favourite podcast – The Guardian’s Football Weekly

q) Favourite quote – “If you pretend to work, we’ll pretend to pay you.”

r) Favourite room – Bedroom

s) Favourite stand-up comedian – Tim Vine

t) Favourite TV show – Modern Family

u) Favourite urban legend – “The modern image of Father Christmas was invented by Coca Cola.” <<< Of course it wasn’t!

v) Favourite volcano – Mt Fuji

w) Favourite website – www.bbc.co.uk

x) Favourite x-ray photograph – This one of a pair of lungs

y) Favourite YouTube channel – The Young Turks

z) Favourite “Zeta-Jones” movie – The Haunting (a funny ‘horror’ re-make)

Comments on: "My Favourite Things" (3)

  1. I love the The Metamorphorsis and you’re right about the food critic job it’s amazing to eat all the time and regarding french i’m not sure as you always prefer German!! but glad you finally love french just like me 😀 and yeah Christopher Nolan is the best !

  2. Thanks Dina! I like the way The Metamorphorsis warns us of what would happen if we work way too hard. The reason why I chose French is because I love the French accent and I think French girls sound very sexy.

    Did you know that Christopher Nolan is half British half American? I’m pretty sure he also has some Nigerian heritage in there, and I think this where he gets most of creativity from! 😉

  3. u do like my french accent too, don’t u ? lol well i didn’t know Nolan is half British half American but i strongly agree he has Nigerian heritage though ofcourse , and sorry i forgot that ur favorite language was spanish where did i get the german thing from hahahaha

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

