Meeting people in person

I met two of my estate agents for the first time today. I’ve been living in this flat since August 2009 (exactly a year ago), but someone else did the paperwork, so I didn’t ever have to go into the estate agent’s office.

I’ve spoken to both estate agents on the phone many times, and most times our conversations have been about flat-related problems. Needless to say, I didn’t have a very favourable opinion about either person.

However, they both had to come to my flat  today because it was being evaluated. They both came across as really nice people, and I’m glad to have met them. They also looked completely different from what I’d imagined.

It might all change again when something in the flat stops working properly, but for now, my opinion about them has changed. I guess one of the reasons why is because we spoke about other things (where they live, about their family, countries visited etc) instead of only talking about the flat.

I also think that putting faces to voices makes a difference, as you can actually see what the other person’s reaction is – you don’t have to imagine it.

Leave a comment